Springtime in Heidelberg and Mannheim

Last week, Mike and several of his co-workers had to be at one of their vendors or suppliers (I can never keep the two separated, and I don’t know that it really matters in my sphere at all) all week, and lucky for me… it was right outside of Heidelberg. Also lucky for me, spring is upon us and was creeping out all over Heidelberg! In fact, they are feeling so confident that the never-ending winter is actually over that they filled their fountains last week (I watched them putting the water in). Lucky lucky lucky me! Because we took a trip to Heidelberg in the fall, I’m just going to share the spring-time version of the city…

I know... what a way to start. I thought it was funny, though, in a way. I was out and about fairly early, and I'd wondered how they managed the trash pickup in the pedestrian-dominated Altstadt, especially as busy as this one is. Apparently, they pile stuff up near the fountains... It was gone an hour later!

I know… what a way to start. I thought it was funny, though, in a way. I was out and about fairly early, and I’d wondered how they managed the trash pickup in the pedestrian-dominated Altstadt, especially as busy as this one is. Apparently, they pile stuff up near the planters… It was gone an hour later!

I was even more amused by the window display incorporating a stuffed figure  taking a seat!

I was even more amused by the window display incorporating a bear in a high chair!

Previously, we had used the funicular only to get to the castle. I decided to take a walk in the woods on top of the mountain, so I took the "historical" part of the railway. Over 100 years old, folks, with all the creaks and rattles to prove it!

Previously, we had used the funicular only to get to the castle. I decided to take a walk in the woods on top of the mountain, so I took the “historical” part of the railway. Over 100 years old, folks, with all the creaks and rattles to prove it!

As I walked along, I was enchanted by the many ways they made a simple walk in the woods both more beautiful and more interesting (not that it needed either)...

As I walked along, I was enchanted by the many ways they made a simple walk in the woods both more beautiful and more interesting (not that it needed either)… This one was on the more profound end of the spectrum, I thought.

Care for a seat?

Care for a seat?

Beautiful flowering bush, discovered as we walked along vineyards overlooking both Heidelberg and Mannheim.

Beautiful flowering bush, discovered as we walked along vineyards overlooking both Heidelberg and Mannheim.

IMG_4279

Sunset across the Neckar Valley from the castle-restaurant we dined at… Positively magical! Remarkably, the dinner at the castle restaurant was really tasty! And not that touristy (though I suspect that may have been different a few years ago)…

IMG_4251

On our last full day in Heidelberg, I took the tram to nearby Mannheim. Interesting, eh?

One of the many fountains in Mannheim.

One of the many fountains in Mannheim. Mannheim struck me as much more business-y and modern… Not unattractive, but very different from Heidelberg.

I may add a few more from Mannheim in the coming days. It was a very interesting place… and I thoroughly enjoyed seeing people so obviously enjoy getting out in the springtime sunshine! People were everywhere – sunbathing, reading in the park, strolling along with friends! A good way to spend a day – and I hope that you enjoy your own special version of that this weekend!

Happy trails!

Leave a Reply

