It’s the Little Things

I imagine (probably rightly) that some of you may snicker (hopefully under your breath) with all of my whining about the weather. Believe me when I tell you that I’m ready to stop, too! However, this is the winter that just won’t quit. We were given a little taste of spring (she’s such a tease!) last week, complete with SUNSHINE if you can believe that! This has been the grayest winter in German experience for the last 20 years, or so I’ve heard. But… check this link out if you are interested in a good laugh and a little education about German weather/solar energy: Germany’s massive sunniness; I’d watch the video, personally, but only after looking at the rest of the page. I enjoy laughing with silly people, though, and I can only imagine that she was intending to be funny, but it only made the pain of this morning that much worse. 4 inches of snow by noon (I hear… as you will soon hear, I am boycotting). And it is still snowing. Only 1 inch was predicted, but I think that the Germans may be infinitely optimistic about their weather, at least in the forecasting of it… they talk about it like the next apocolypse is coming (seriously… at “Bakery Day” last week a lovely, intelligent woman positively turned ashen when discussing the weather forecast for this week. I wasn’t sure if her forecast came with zombies, or if she has worse winter-phobia than I do!)! In any case, I have decided to boycott the weather until it improves. I’m still working out the details of how that is going to work, exactly, but I’ll let you know.

In any case, I thought that I would share with you thing that make me happy! Some of them here in my happy little flat, some of them in Hannover. I’ll share more about our (fabulous) trip to Hannover and Hamburg soon, but for now, I just wanted to share happy pictures!

This guy was just so sunny - fire-y even. To see this is to smile... :-)

This guy was just so sunny – fire-y even. To see this is to smile… 🙂

I will feel forever grateful to have visited the Niki de Saint Phalle Grotto at the Herrenhäuser Gardens... Fun fact:  She was named an honorary citizen of Hannover!

I will feel forever grateful to have visited the Niki de Saint Phalle Grotto at the Royal Herrenhäuser Gardens… Fun fact: She was named an honorary citizen of Hannover!

In the silver room at the Grotto, something at least in the spirit of the Nanas.. So cheerful and shiny!

In the silver room at the Grotto, something at least in the spirit of the Nanas.. So cheerful and shiny!

Peanut butter and jelly has been one of my recent near-obsessions. I have now taken it to a near art-form (if only I could get amazing peanut butter, but this will do):  handmade jam bought at the farm-store; fresh and tasty strawberries (for texture and general yumminess); and a smooth slice of whole wheat. Fantastic!

Peanut butter and jelly has been one of my recent near-obsessions. Some people grow out of their love of peanut butter… I find that the older I get, the more I love it! I have now taken it to a near art-form (if only I could get amazing peanut butter, but this will do): handmade jam bought at the farm-store; fresh and tasty strawberries (for texture and general yumminess); and a smooth slice of whole wheat. Fantastic!

Don't you kind of want a moment like this? Where you can stretch out on your tummy, stick your toes in the sun, and just rest? Looks great to me!

Don’t you kind of want a moment like this? Where you can stretch out on your tummy, stick your toes in the sun, and just rest? Looks great to me!

Shooting stars in the "Blue Room" at the Grotto.

Shooting stars in the “Blue Room” at the Grotto.

"Their Eyes Were Watching God"

“Their Eyes Were Watching God”

2 of the most lovely orchids. Perhaps ever. I just love looking at them...

2 of the most lovely orchids. Perhaps ever. I just love looking at them…

More shiny and colorful goodness in the "Silver Room."

More shiny and colorful goodness in the “Silver Room.”

I just thought this looked as much like a botanical Easter basket as you can get! Sometimes I wish that I could landscape my backyard with photographs...

I just thought this looked as much like a botanical Easter basket as you can get! Sometimes I wish that I could landscape my backyard with photographs…

Windows at the Grotto were also an opportunity to have an artistic moment.

Windows at the Grotto were also an opportunity to have an artistic moment.

I also went through a phase (prompted by a photo or 2 taken by one of my culinarily creative sister-in-laws) that caused my brain to fixate on the warm, sweet, fluffy-ness of monkey bread. We don't have a round pan, so we made do... and it was gooooood!

I also went through a phase (prompted by a photo or 2 taken by one of my culinarily creative sister-in-laws) that caused my brain to fixate on the warm, sweet, fluffy-ness of monkey bread. We don’t have a round pan, so we made do… and it was gooooood!

A little blurry, yes, but the colors and the delicate edges of these are romance incarnate to me.

A little blurry, yes, but the colors and the delicate edges of these are romance incarnate to me.

Happy Tuesday, Y’all!

7 thoughts on “It’s the Little Things

  1. As you know, I am in complete agreement about the weather — I’ll join your boycott! But your photos brought a bit of sunshine today. 🙂

  2. Hi Mike and Anne, Have just discovered your blog..I’m a 21 year old Kiwi girl living here in Berlin and totally can sympathize with your comments about the snow! Last week was such a teaser.. I’m new to the “blog scene” and reading yours provided me with a heap of inspiration! Thank you! 🙂

    • Welcome! I’m glad to have give you a little boost in the inspiration department! I know that this winter has been even rougher for y’all over in Berlin than for us down here in Aschaffenburg. 😦 We have a cousin (or cousin-in-law) who recently moved to Kiwi-land and is loving it… I hope Germany is kind to you…

Leave a Reply

